Docs Menu

Columbus Blue Jackets

Founded:2000GM:Jarmo Kekalainen
Owned By:John P. McConnellCoach:Brad Larsen
Home Rink:Nationwide ArenaCaptain:Boone Jenner

The Columbus Blue Jackets (often simply referred to as the Jackets or by the initialism CBJ) are a professional ice hockey team based in Columbus, Ohio. The Blue Jackets began play as an expansion team in 2000.

The Blue Jackets name and logos are inspired by Ohio’s Civil War history. The Blue Jackets play their home games at Nationwide Arena in downtown Columbus, which opened in 2000. They are affiliated with the Cleveland Monsters of the AHL.

Deeper Dive

2021-22 Season Roster

Emil BemstromJake BeanJoonas Korpisalo
Oliver BjorkstrandNick BlankenburgElvis Merzlikins
Yegor ChinakhovAdam Boqvist
Gregory HofmannGabriel Carlsson
Boone JennerVladislav Gavrikov
Kent JohnsonScott Harrington
Sean KuralyDean Kukan
Patrik LaineAndrew Peeke
Gustav NyquistZach Werenski
Eric Robinson
Jack Roslovic
Cole Sillinger
Alexandre Texier
Jakub Voracek

8 Cool Things About the Columbus Blue Jackets

As a hockey fan, I love digging up nuggets about players who interest me. What makes them tick off the ice? What hobbies do they enjoy? It makes for great water-cooler conversation and humanizes them to me. Sometimes we think of athletes as these super people who never make mistakes and are just programmed to be perfect in every way. Finding fun tidbits shows they are relatable. Read More…

Boone Jenner Columbus Blue Jackets
Boone Jenner, Columbus Blue Jackets (Jess Starr/The Hockey Writers)

The Players

More Blue Jackets History

The Quest for Success

Since the establishment of the Columbus Blue Jackets, they have been in search of success. While the fans got a taste of success in the 2019 Stanley Cup Playoffs, success has been elusive for the organization. In this article the beginnings of the franchise, where the franchise stands now, and what the team has meant for the city of Columbus off the ice will be explored. Read More…

Columbus Blue Jackets
Columbus Blue Jackets players celebrate (AP Photo/Jay LaPrete)


General Managers History

  • Jarmo Kekalainen: Feb. 13, 2013 – Present
  • Scott Howson: June 15, 2007 – Feb. 12, 2013
  • Jim Clark: April 19 – June 15, 2007
  • Doug MacLean: Feb. 11, 1998 – April 19, 2007

Head Coaches History

  • Brad Larsen: Oct. 14, 2021 – Present
  • John Tortorella: Oct. 22, 2015 – May 8, 2021
  • Todd Richards: Jan. 10, 2012 – Oct. 20, 2015
  • Scott Arniel: Oct. 8, 2010 – Jan. 8, 2012
  • Claude Noel: Feb. 4 – April 9, 2010
  • Ken Hitchcock: Nov. 24, 2006 – Feb. 2, 2010
  • Gary Agnew: Nov. 15-22, 2006
  • Gerard Gallant: Jan. 2, 2004 – Nov. 12, 2006
  • Doug MacLean: Jan. 8 – Dec. 31, 2003
  • Dave King: Oct. 7, 2000 – Jan. 6, 2003